Executive Council Members

The AFL-CIO Executive Council is comprised of the three top officers and 55 vice presidents. These democratically elected officials represent the 12.5 million members of the AFL-CIO and are responsible for guiding the work of the federation. The responsibilities of all officers of the AFL-CIO are set out in our constitution.

Executive Council Member Union
Jason Ambrosi Airline Pilots Association
Stuart Appelbaum RWDSU-UFCW
Matthew S. Biggs International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers
Roxanne Brown United Steelworkers
Bernie Burnham Minnesota AFL-CIO
Meghann Burke NWSL Players Association
James Callahan Operating Engineers
Gabrielle Carteris SAG-AFTRA
Bonnie Castillo National Nurses United
Frank Christensen Elevator Constructors
Tom Conway United Steelworkers
Gina Cooper Electrical Workers
Kenneth Cooper IBEW
John Costa Amalgamated Transit Union
Eric Dean Ironworkers
Evelyn DeJesus AFT
Mark Dimondstein American Postal Workers Union
Tim Driscoll Bricklayers
Cheryl Eliano AFGE
Shawn Fain UAW
Everett Kelley AFGE
Edward A. Kelly Fire Fighters
Richard Lanigan Office and Professional Employees
Matthew Loeb Theatrical Stage Employees
Ernest A. Logan School Administrators
Arthur Maratea TCU/IAM
Robert Martinez Machinists
Elissa McBride AFSCME
Vonda McDaniel Nashville and Middle Tennessee CLC
Sean McGarvey North America's Building Trades Unions
Mark McManus Plumbers and Pipe Fitters
Sara Nelson Association of Flight Attendants-CWA
Terry O'Sullivan Laborers
Marc Perrone United Food and Commercial Workers
Brian Renfroe National Association of Letter Carriers
Roland Rexha Marine Engineers’ Beneficial Association
Cecil Roberts Mine Workers
Michael Sacco Seafarers
John Samuelsen Transport Workers
Rich Santa National Air Traffic Controllers Association
Lee A. Saunders AFSCME
Joseph Sellers Jr. International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers
Anthony Shelton Bakery, Confectionery, Tobacco Workers and Grain Millers
Christopher Shelton Communications Workers of America
James Slevin Utility Workers
DeMaurice Smith NFL Players Association
Lonnie R. Stephenson Electrical Workers
Ben Valdepeña California School Employees Association
Baldemar Velasquez Farm Labor Organizing Committee
Randi Weingarten AFT
James A. Williams Jr. Painters and Allied Trades
Charles Wowkanech New Jersey AFL-CIO